Module 6:Assessment Planning & Construction, Reporting & Feedback

After reading all the resources provided to us by our Prof. in this module about assessment planning, construction, reporting and feedback, I must say that I have gained a wider perspective that will equip me in my future endeavors about the topic.

I am actually intrigue about Table of Specifications (TOS), also called test blueprint, a great effective tool in helping out teachers align objectives, instruction and assessments (Five & DiDonato-Barnes, 2013). This indeed caught my attention because as future teacher for I know very well that the content of my test questions has a direct effect on what type of skills was mastered and needs to be achieve by my students in the future. I actually thought that using Bloom’s Taxonomy higher level of thinking (Remember, Understand, Apply, Analyze, Evaluate and Create) is impressive to know as a reference in test constructing and can help teachers in achieving effective assessment. I remember that I used to be very curious with how my teachers construct their exams. I would often ask them on what is their basis when it comes to creating test questions? Is it enough as long as it showed higher level of thinking toward the students? The response that I usually get is that it’s enough as long as it matches what is being taught and tested in class. Yes, this is true but after what I have learned about TOS, I couldn’t help but feel so thrilled in adapting this tool by the time that I am making own test questions in class. It gives me confidence to know that TOS is the tool that increases both the validity and reliability of test if once used.

The second issue that almost of us can relate with and was discussed in this module is about the topic on Feedback. As what I have learned in the modules, there are also issues or concerns being raised about giving assessment feedback. The University of Sydney (n.d.) identified all these five (5); feedback is too late to influence learning, feedback is cryptic, provides no explanation for action, good students miss out, feedback is “one-off”, and feedback is not progressive, preparing feedback is too time-consuming, and giving feedback can be repetitive and unproductive.

As online learner in distance education, feedback is one issue that really bothers me. In this blog, I will raised two issues about this and that are the following: feedback is cryptic and feedback is too late to influence learning. In my own experience, I used to have a teacher in college who would provide feedback in a form of questions like “what’s this?” highlighting some text in my paper which leaves me sometimes an impression of whether or not my what I have done is on positive note or not. This can be really frustrating for it did not help me at all in achieving the desired goal of the course/lesson. Also, one issue that I would like to share most especially in studying in an online education is about receiving feedback that it too late to influence learning. It was in another subject and I worked with a group of people on our final paper. I notice that most of the time, after doing all the submissions and doing the peer assessment, and came the time that the feedback is given about our paper, I feel that my fellow group mates aren’t that interested anymore in discussing about the feedback since we thought that it was too late to discuss after all the assessments and submissions. This actually surprise me since we all know that if we are indeed in a real classroom set-up, then I do think that we can still discuss the feedback that was given to us.

With all the concerns that I have raised in this module, I have come to realized that it really boils down to practicing good assessment strategies. Teachers need to be very careful in planning, designing and constructing assessments as this can directly affect the conceptions of what or where students should focus when it comes to the lesson being served. That is why it is also important for teachers and faculty to collaborate together and have constantly re-evaluate their assessment methods for them to help the students identify what are the next steps that they will do to enhance their progress, competence, and confidence in the future.

REFERENCES:

Five H. & DiDonato-Barnes N. (2013). Classroom Test Construction: The Power of Table of Specifications. Retrieved at http://pareonline.net/pdf/v18n3.pdf

The University of Sydney (n.d.) Giving Assessment Feedback. Retrieve at http://sydney.edu.au/education-portfolio/ei/assessmentresources/pdf/Link8.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

