Module 5: Traditional and Non-Traditional Assessments

For this week’s topic, one question was raised to us that made me reflect even more as a student and a future educator.  It asked about “how would the type of assessment (traditional vs non-traditional) affect the way students approach learning?”. My initial response to this question is simple yet holds very true to each one of us as a student. I answered that “It is very crucial in identifying what type of assessment (traditional vs non-traditional) will be used in class as this can have a direct effect on student’s motivation towards studying”.

I am currently studying PTC in UPOU and I must say that type of assessment being utilized in online education is very challenging indeed to surpass. I always feel that our professor is not only assessing what we have learned but also wants to know if we are truly enjoying what we have learned in the modules or are we truly motivated to study hard knowing that there will be quizzes and discussions after each readings. In my own experience, I am more motivated to study as long as the type of assessment will make use of the critical thinking skills of students and this can be in a form of oral or written form of exam, discussion, or debate. There are also times that I struggle in passing non-traditional assessments like practical exams. In my case, as a Broadcast Communication student, our skills in managing audio and visual tools are being assessed at the end of the course. At that time, my only explanation as to why I am not excelling in that field is due to reason that I fail to familiarize myself with the concepts behind audio and visual tools. I thanked God that I have enrolled myself in this course for everything was explained to me on the very reasons students fail in traditional and non-traditional assessments.

Last two semesters ago, I enrolled myself in EDS 103 (Theories of Learning) and Constructivism was one of the topics tacked in that course and I’m just glad that constructivist approach also plays an important role in assessments as this is again discussed to us in Module 5. Although I already have an idea about the importance of using this approach in learning and assessment, I have again gained another perspective in viewing assessment to another level most especially its influence in non-traditional assessments. Personally, it does not only promote students to be active in their learning, it also allows multiple interpretation and expressions in learning between the student and the teachers. I used to enjoy doing science experiments in high school and one impact of doing such activity as discussed also in the module is it “encourage group work and use of peers as resources” (Brooks, M & Brooks J.G., 2017).

It has always been a privilege to study and teach what you have learned. Teaching is such a privilege job that must not be taken for granted. When I was still a high school student, I used to give high regard to the results of the high-stakes assessments given to us by our teachers. We always felt that we are representing the school wherever we may go and that explains the reason why we put much value into it. But then, there is really more into it as it revealed that it can also defeat learning if teachers are not careful in teaching students the right attitude to learning. As a future educator of this country, I feel that I should not fail my students in teaching them what I also learned in teaching and assessment. I believe it is high time to change their perspective when it comes to taking exams and view it as a process of learning. I am looking forward to utilized authentic assessments in the future as this will engage them into deeper learning like mastering content, thinking critically, communicating effectively, collaborating productively, reflecting and learning to learn.

REFERENCE:

Brooks, M. and Brooks J.G. (2017). The Courage to be Constructivist. Available at http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/nov99/vol57/num03/The-Courage-to-Be-Constructivist.aspx

 

Leave a Reply

