Module 4: Classroom Assessments

Taking examinations after each lesson during my elementary and high school days will always be a stressful thing to experience as a student. I always had that feeling that teachers are just using that tactic for us, their students to be attentive in their class. Thus, most of the time during class, I would always look forward to the examination itself which prompts me to give me more regard about it over the lectures that our teachers deliver. I’m just glad that this mind-set was changed upon entering college. My professors in college where very generous enough to explain to us that examinations (most especially written exams) should only be applicable to math and science courses that require rigid analysis. That makes sense to me now and I wish that my high school teachers have this kind of realization and that they should not give examinations only because they feel the need to do so or is required after class.

This week’s topic on classroom assessment really did help me to appreciate and understand why teachers are giving exams before, during, and after class. The very purpose of each assessment (Formal, Informal, Formative and Summative) gave me an idea of which among these assessments must be properly and carefully utilized for if not can hinder student’s learning achievements or outcomes.

It is very clear to me after reading the module that during my elementary and high school days that my teachers would often use the formal assessments since they would give this religiously during and after class. During checking time, the scores that we have gotten will be a form of feedback on whether or not we did truly learn in their class. This also drives us to study more based on the performance scores that we have gotten.

On the other hand, I wasn’t even aware that there is a so-called informal assessment. I never thought that portfolios, debates, group work, interviews, games, and logs or journals are under this category and this helps me appreciate more the kind of work that our teachers are doing just to help their students to understand the material very well. For me, this is just a one way of effectively teaching their students and appreciate learning in a more holistic way. This is also the opportunity for other students who aren’t excelling in written test to prove themselves with their teachers that they can improve their learning through this type of activities. In all honesty, I am worried about how teachers would make this type of assessment to be valid and reliable at the same time. This can only establish through making sure that the learning goals and objectives are aligned with the instructional strategies used then one can expect of a valid assessment. Moreover, reliability can only be achieved if teachers apply consistent criteria based on the learning outcomes or expectation for students.

The different types of classroom assessment discussed in this module help me appreciate more each one of them. It brought my understanding to a whole new level and it gave me confidence on how I should be assessing my future students without bias and effectively.  As emphasized in the modules that it is not worth conducting all the assessments if they aren’t aligned with the learning objectives or goals and learning outcomes of the lesson. It is very crucial for teachers to understand the purposes of each assessment as this will improve their teaching styles, methods, and instructions to help them a better learner in the future.

Leave a Reply

