Assessment: An Evidence for Learning

During my elementary and high school days, my classmates and I loathed doing any kind of assessments. We never enjoyed doing it and we felt that it’s more of an obligation and never likened it to learning. I can still recall way back in my junior high school wherein our math teacher would often tell us that it is not their fault if  we don’t learn or study hard as long as they are getting their monthly salary which we felt what only matters to them. I was thinking that maybe she is just threatening us to listen to her lectures on algebra or maybe because I studied in a public high school which explains her predicament at that time.

I believe assessment will always be a big deal to everyone of us. We cannot be called professionals in the first place if we haven’t taken any licensure examinations. The results of the assessments or examinations that we have gotten reveals much more on what is our strength and weaknesses. Assessments is crucial aspect in learning and achieving our academic and professional life in the future. It takes much a lot of effort to ace any type of assessments and that’s a fact.

Before taking up this course in EDS 113, my concept and understanding about assessment is limited only to examinations and grades. I never thought of appreciating the numbers behind the scores for every examinations that I have gotten. What matters to me is that I should pass the exam/assessment and that’s it! However, after reading the module 2 on framework for assessment of student learning, I have just realized that “Assessment is more than grades”, as emphasized in the readings. That’s how I should view this concept which means that I should give importance to learning above all. It’s just funny for I used to really value the grades when I was still studying in high school and everything just changes when I went to college but I guess we  human being undergo some kind of cycle that it came to a point that I give importance once again the “value” written on a piece of paper.

In all honesty, I thought of assessment as an easier and not complicated task to do. Again, I was wrong. In the second module, I have learned the so-called assessment cycle and the relevance of having a cyclical process for the PDCA or the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle to undergo. PDCA cycle will always be open to modification or changes and this must be done in order to benefit the learners in gathering all the necessary evidences for learning. I have to add that when a teacher does his/her assessment with children, assessment evidences or measures must be done during on-going learning to fully monitor their progress as learners or what we often know as formative assessments. Indeed, assessments requires preparation and deep understanding and appreciation about learning. When we start from this, we know that we can reach the fullest potential of a child in the future.

 
Reference:

Field-Tested Learning Assessment Guide (FLAG). Available at http://www.flaguide.org/start/primerfull.php

  

Leave a Reply

